400mm cubed print area Wilson 2

I’m trying to figure out which stepper motors to use for my build. I am using a frame kit that I bought off of eBay that came with all the rods, extrusions, screw rods and hardware along with the 3D printed parts that were sourced from China also bought on Ebay. I’m wondering if I need ones with more torque than the ones mice mentioned since I’m working with a larger build volume. I also wasn’t sure if I needed to change the dimensions for the print bed or not since the heat pad itself will be the size I need it to be. Any input is much appreciated as this is my first build.

I have a 400mm cubed wilson 2. I am running on generic 1.2a/phase nema 17’s. That should be fine for the z and x axes, but I am wishing I had more for the Y - so I can print faster! I currently have acceleration capped at 400 on all axis and that has been reliable but it is reaaaaallly slow!

what would a good alternative be for the y axis?

I’m not sure - maybe something bigger, haven’t put too much thought into it. Nema 23 I guess?

If you ordered your kit online, you likely have the rods that will support the bed too close together - and you will suffer vibration. Check out these ends that @ant0ny designed for me (I am hoping to revisit/tweek soon - my rails seem to be outside spec, and also might think about the bigger motor): https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2052651

Good idea to beef up the y axis ends. I already saw signs of poor print quality with mine. I had to ca glue the one side of my end because it split between the layers. It doesn’t look like it will fit my extrusion rods though. It looks like that piece is made to fit a flat style bar. It wouldn’t hurt to upgrade the smooth rod to a 12mm either.

That piece is made to use 12mm linear bearings. You won’t regret doing this.

Where abouts are you located? One of your problems will be finding someone who can print these…