Smart Full Graphic Not working on 12v

Hi all

I am new to building the printer from scratch and still waiting on a few parts(bearings and belts). I got the Mega with ramps1.4 and Drv8825 drivers with the 12864 Full graphic display from china.

With a steep learning curve I managed to install marlin (Marty’s version) on the board.

When the mega is connected via the USB with display it all seems to be working fine I can see the menus and click through them.

When I disconnect and only run from the 12v power supply the display only shows a blank display but is blue back-lit. I can not see anything but this not the case if running off the usb.

Just some notes I have not connected any end-stops, motors or sensors to the ramps1.4 yet as I was just testing still.

Thanks in advance

have you tried fiddling with the pot on the screen board on the lower left? sometimes the cheap mega boards have really poor voltage regulation and usb connected/disconnected needs the screen adjusted to get it visible.

I have and it either stays all whited out or goes plane blue No text visable.

Hi @BigAnt

These are notes from the Ramps1.4 Wiki:

Without D1 installed, or when the 12VIN is not connected, the Arduino gets its power from USB. If you want your kit powered without USB connected you need to solder in D1 OR connect VCC to your PSU.

Evidently some boards are shipped without D1 fitted. Here is the section of the Ramps1.4 schematic that shows D1:

And here is where D1 is located on the PCB:

I hope this helps

Thanks @dtbee the diode is installed on the ramps I got. Not sure where the VCC must be connected?
When I turn on the 12v supply to the ramps the Fan used to cool the boards does come on.

Here is a pic to show what happens

Usb Only

I think it’s working fine, you have to fine tune the contrast to see anything on the 12v powered one.

Sadly most of those come with badly set contrast potentiometer, which give you nothing on screen or full blow screen like that.